Live Action Mafia

A game of sneakiness and paranoia
It is currently Fri Jul 23, 2021 10:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 1:41 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
Is there an execution day 1?

No.

If the mafia assigned the kill is roleblocked, does the kill happen?

No.

How many mafia are there?

That information is not public.

Is it possible that there are multiple arsonists?

No.

Does each townie have a role?

No.

If a player's target gets taxi-driven, does someone stalking that player see the intended target or the new target?

They see the intended target. If A says "I taxi drive D", B says "I visit D", and C says "I stalk B", assuming there are no other actions, B will visit A, and C will be told "B visited D".

Are people notified when they get roleblocked?

No.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 2:32 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:51 am
Posts: 0
Wait I thought the answer to "Does each townie have a role?" was "Yes."

_________________
:Ṣḅ ̇ + ·Ạṣ: :SbAs:

Nice, I am all town on this blessed day. Also, mathfia is hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 3:49 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
Oops, that was a typo. Apparently I can't edit, but the answer is in fact "Yes."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 1:07 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
When we execute someone, do we find out their role?

No.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
If a stalker stalks someone who is roleblocked, do they see the intended target, or no target?

They see no target.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:49 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
What happens if two taxi drivers drive the same person?

Mafia taxi drivers go before town taxi drivers. The order of two mafia taxi drivers, or two town taxi drivers, is determined randomly at the start of game, and will be consistently applied throughout game.

Say taxi drivers A and B both intend to target player C, and that A goes before B (whether because A is mafia, or because this is randomly determined). Then, A's actual target will be C, and B's actual target will be A. So then, if player D:
- intends to target A, they will actually target C.
- intends to target B, they will actually target A.
- intends to target C, they will actually target B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
How do I submit actions?

Message GMs. You can do this through forum PMs by sending it to "GMs"

Are role actions optional? Can they target themselves?

Visitors, Taxi Drivers, Roleblockers, Jailers, and Stalkers are all non-optional, but can target themselves. If a target is not given, a random one will be chosen (you will be told which one is chosen).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 1:52 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
What is known about mafia role distribution?

Every mafia member is either a Taxi Driver or Roleblocker. There are no bounds on the distribution.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:32 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:16 pm
Posts: 0
More taxi driver shenanigans.

Suppose A and B are both taxi drivers, and A goes before B.

1) If they taxi drive each other, then A's taxi drive causes B to target themself with their drive. So, B's taxi drive effectively did nothing.

2) If A taxi drives C, and B taxi drives A, then B will end up hitting C with their drive. So, if D targets A, they will hit B; if they target B, they will hit C; if they target C, they will hit A.

3) If A taxi drives B, and B drives C, then both will hit their intended targets. So, if D targets A, they will hit C; if they target B, they will hit A; if they target C, they will hit B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:05 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:51 am
Posts: 0
jasonye wrote:
2) If A taxi drives C, and B taxi drives A, then B will end up hitting C with their drive. So, if D targets A, they will hit B; if they target B, they will hit C; if they target C, they will hit A.

3) If A taxi drives B, and B drives C, then both will hit their intended targets. So, if D targets A, they will hit C; if they target B, they will hit A; if they target C, they will hit B.

Urgh I don't think these two are consistent permutation-wise -- it's saying that (12)(23) and (23)(12) yield the same permutation (easier to see if you swap the roles of A and B in scenario 3 and have B's swap happen before A there), i.e. the order doesn't actually matter. Can you just tell us whether later taxiings get composed on the left or the right?

Actually wait, I guess #1 implies these aren't even actually permutations that are getting composed. Each later drive is being conjugated by the permutation up to there, or something? Or, one of the elements in the transposition is getting transformed before application, and the other isn't. Very confusing; precise mathematical description would be appreciated :P

_________________
:Ṣḅ ̇ + ·Ạṣ: :SbAs:

Nice, I am all town on this blessed day. Also, mathfia is hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Clarifications
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:30 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:47 pm
Posts: 0
Seems to be this:

Each person has a house. Each person starts off the night at their own house. When you target someone, you're actually targeting the person at their house. More specifically, when you taxi drive A with yourself, you're switching the person at A's house with yourself (regardless of whose house you're currently at).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group